Skip to content
Milton Keynes Counts — Milton Keynes, in numbers.Local help →

Milton Keynes · England

People and living standards

Milton Keynes council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Milton Keynes

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Milton Keynes local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 178,272 in 1991 to 308,866 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Milton Keynes council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 196,649 people in 1996; 308,866 people in 2025. 57.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Milton Keynes council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991178,272
1992180,394
1993183,924
1994187,937
1995192,359
1996196,649
1997199,662
1998202,861
1999206,664
2000209,803
2001212,707
2002215,061
2003217,597
2004219,521
2005223,462
2006227,225
2007231,033
2008235,625
2009240,178
2010245,450
2011249,895
2012254,003
2013259,672
2014264,948
2015269,783
2016274,231
2017276,588
2018278,892
2019281,434
2020283,707
2021288,312
2022292,805
2023300,323
2024305,806
2025308,866
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Milton Keynes council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 47,491 people in 1996; 64,604 people in 2025. 36% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Milton Keynes council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199145,107
199245,577
199346,091
199446,803
199547,108
199647,491
199747,451
199847,567
199948,047
200048,086
200147,889
200247,852
200348,181
200448,367
200548,538
200649,094
200749,913
200851,084
200952,497
201054,011
201155,627
201256,712
201358,104
201459,271
201560,244
201661,275
201761,550
201862,054
201962,345
202062,283
202162,313
202263,173
202364,557
202465,088
202564,604
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Milton Keynes council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 129,564 people in 1996; 199,367 people in 2025. 53.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Milton Keynes council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991115,519
1992116,833
1993119,460
1994122,467
1995126,173
1996129,564
1997132,262
1998134,966
1999137,961
2000140,757
2001143,416
2002145,380
2003147,264
2004148,628
2005151,960
2006154,659
2007156,982
2008159,542
2009161,765
2010164,536
2011166,372
2012167,771
2013170,636
2014173,372
2015176,111
2016178,378
2017179,279
2018179,998
2019181,077
2020182,597
2021186,067
2022188,392
2023193,429
2024197,016
2025199,367
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Milton Keynes council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,594 people in 1996; 44,895 people in 2025. 129.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Milton Keynes council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,646
199217,984
199318,373
199418,667
199519,078
199619,594
199719,949
199820,328
199920,656
200020,960
200121,402
200221,829
200322,152
200422,526
200522,964
200623,472
200724,138
200824,999
200925,916
201026,903
201127,896
201229,520
201330,932
201432,305
201533,428
201634,578
201735,759
201836,840
201938,012
202038,827
202139,932
202241,240
202342,337
202443,702
202544,895
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 287,060 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Milton Keynes · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh35,64512.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African27,8519.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups11,7254.1%
White206,11471.8%
Other ethnic group5,7252%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 248,821 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Milton Keynes · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White199,09480%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups8,2353.3%
Asian/Asian British22,7829.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British17,1316.9%
Other ethnic group1,5790.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 207,057 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Milton Keynes · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White187,85290.7%
Mixed3,7161.8%
Asian/Asian British7,5713.7%
Black/Black British4,9862.4%
Chinese/Other2,9321.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 3.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Milton Keynes council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,133 per person in 1997; £25,064 per person in 2024. 125.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Milton Keynes council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,133
199811,289
199911,654
200012,197
200112,559
200213,191
200313,626
200414,346
200514,828
200615,339
200716,182
200816,550
200916,603
201016,828
201116,887
201217,136
201317,274
201417,772
201518,819
201619,154
201719,812
201820,527
201920,940
202020,896
202121,338
202222,772
202323,828
202425,064
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Milton Keynes council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 4.9% in 1997; -3.5% in 2024. 8.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Milton Keynes council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19974.9
19984.3
19993
20002.5
20011.5
20024.3
20034.5
20045.7
20055.5
20064.7
20075.4
20085.1
20093.7
20104.2
20113.6
20121.5
2013-1.4
2014-1.7
2015-1.1
2016-0.5
20170.6
20180.6
2019-0.6
2020-0.4
2021-2.3
2022-0.8
2023-2.5
2024-3.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

16.2%

21 March 2021 · Milton Keynes local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.8%

21 March 2021 · Milton Keynes local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.1%

21 March 2021 · Milton Keynes local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£330,000

July 2026 · Milton Keynes local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,344

August 2026 · Milton Keynes local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.